February 2019 book wrap-up

Friendly reminder that I keep these mini-reviews here on the blog pretty short, so click on the book title for my full Goodreads review!

I read 7 books this month, bringing my total for the year to 15/50. I’m reading a lot faster than I usually do, and I think listening to audiobooks has helped increase that number! But most importantly, this month I had basically ALL SOLID 4-star reads. I’m surprised I had only one “true” 5-star (BORN A CRIME!), because I’ve been on such a good book streak lately!!

February Wrap Up


Born a Crime by Trevor Noah
(on audio)
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

This is probably my favorite book of 2019 so far, and might even be one of my favorite books, period. Noah’s story is about so much more than him — it’s about his mom and his country. I’m so glad I listened to this on audio, as it is narrated by Noah himself.

 

img_2834Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
(on audio)
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

I was nervous to read this because of the hype, but it was well deserved! I had some minor issues with the ending, but otherwise, loved this one. Kya’s story will stick with you.

 

 

 

img_2827An Anonymous Girl by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

I liked that this book didn’t have one MAJOR plot twist, as most thrillers tend to have today. Instead, it’s sprinkled with little baby twists, ones that take a while to sink in, but then once they do make you go, “okay, what the fuck?”

 

 

 

Truth or Beard by Penny Reid
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

Super cute romance, and I’m biased because it’s based in Tennessee and I was visiting Tennessee right before reading it. But I loved the small-town vibes. Some blue balls since the main characters don’t bone until about 60% in, but I’m definitely gonna pick up the rest of the books in this series.

 

 

 

img_2829It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

Honestly, you might as well click that Goodreads link for my full rant on this one. I overall liked it, but had some major issues with some of the plot points. Very powerful book, indeed.

 

 

 

img_2830Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

Branching out into the fantasy genre! Really enjoyed this one, some of the fantasy characters reminded me of Game of Thrones. I’d recommend this one to a fantasy newbie like myself!

 

 

 

The Simple Wild by K. A. Tucker
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

I love books that transport me to the setting, and I felt like I was in Alaska with Calla and Jonah. Although Calla was super naive and obnoxious, I enjoyed seeing her character growth. The ending was everything I could have wanted, if a bit rushed.

2 thoughts on “February 2019 book wrap-up

Leave a comment